Five Wildcard Clubs To Shake Up nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Series National Final

COOLANGATTA/QLD (January 20/2017):Five Wildcard boardriders clubs are set to shake up the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Series IV National Final at Newcastle Beach on February 18-19. Merewether Surfboard Club, Avoca Boardriders, Le Ba Boardriders, Elouera Boardriders Club and Margaret River Boardriders Club will all contest the prestigious event that includes Australia’s best boardriders clubs. World Surf League (WSL) stars Matt Wilkinson (Avoca), Adrian Buchan (Avoca), Ryan Callinan (Merewether), Bronte Macaulay (Margaret River), Stu Kennedy (Le Ba), Adam Melling (Le Ba) and Connor O’Leary (Elouera) will bolster an already star studded field of surfers. The 24th club to gain entry into the National Final will be the winner of the nudie Trials on Friday 17th February, the final qualifying opportunity for clubs in the Newcastle region for the last Wildcard position. Surfing Australia CEO Andrew Stark said: “We are really excited to announce the selected wildcard clubs who will meet the qualifying clubs at the national final to battle it out for over $100,000 in prize money and also the ultimate prize of the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Championship trophy.” “This is the official Australian Club Championships and we are thrilled with the calibre of clubs that round out the 24 strong field. The nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Series is a critical Surfing Australia sport development program that builds the capacity and profile of our national boardriders clubs. We are extremely proud of the national club program and look forward to crowning a champion in Newcastle in February.” nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Series IV National Final Qualifiers: QUEENSCLIFF BOARDRIDERS CLUB (NSW) NORTH NARRABEEN BOARDRIDERS CLUB (NSW) NORTH AVALON SURFRIDERS ASSOCIATION (NSW) SEAFORD BOARDRIDERS (SA) NORTHWEST BOARDRIDERS (TAS) COFFS HARBOUR BOARDRIDERS (NSW) BYRON BAY BOARDRIDERS (NSW) CABARITA BOARDRIDERS (NSW) BURLEIGH HEADS BOARDRIDERS CLUB (QLD) POINT LOOKOUT BOARDRIDERS CLUB (QLD) SNAPPER ROCKS SURFRIDERS CLUB (QLD) D’BAH BOARDRIDERS (QLD) GERALDTON BOARDRIDERS (WA) BONDI BOARDRIDERS (NSW) SCARBOROUGH BOARDRIDERS (NSW) CULBURRA BEACH BOARDRIDERS CLUB (NSW) TORQUAY BOARDRIDERS CLUB (VIC) PENINSULA SURFRIDERS CLUB (VIC) MEREWETHER SURFBOARD CLUB (NSW) AVOCA BOARDRIDERS (NSW) LE-BA BOARDRIDERS (NSW) ELOUERA BOARDRIDERS CLUB (NSW) MARGARET RIVER BOARDRIDERS CLUB (WA) nudie TRIALS WINNER The nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Series involves more than 60 of Australia’s best boardriders clubs in eight state qualifying rounds and culminate in a National Final in Newcastle in February for a bolstered 24 clubs. The national final will be a World Tour scale event with significant infrastructure and activations on beach included a live big screen for spectators and the two day event is broadcast nationally live on Fox Sports and online at The nudie Australian Boardriders Battle is officially sanctioned by the World Surf League (WSL), which allows Australian WSL Championship Tour surfers (men and women) the opportunity to represent their local boardriders club at respective state qualifying events and the National Final. There’s $160,000 cash and prizes up for grabs for clubs across the National Series including $24,000 prize money split between eight State events and $85,500 prize money across the Newcastle National Final with the winning boardriders taking home a huge $20,000 and an overseas trip for 6 surfers from the winning club thanks to World Surfaris valued at $30,000. To top things off, there’s an additional $20,000 in prizes across the series. The purpose of the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle program is to build the profile and capacity of community boardriders clubs Australia-wide. Over the next three years, more than $450,000 will be invested into grassroots clubs through the Surfing Australia club development program. Major sponsors of the 2016/17 series include the naming rights partner nudie and supporting sponsors Toyota, Oakley, Nikon, Milwaukee, Destination NSW, The City of Newcastle, DrinkWise, World Surfaris, Fox Sports, World Surf League,, XXXX Summer Bright Lager and Surfing Australia. To find out more information, please visit nudie Australian Boardriders Battle 2017 calendar: EVENT 1 – NSW Central – North Narrabeen, NSW – Sept 3, 2016 EVENT 2 – Fleurieu Peninsula, SA – Sept 17, 2016 EVENT 3 – Scamander, TAS – Oct 8, 2016 EVENT 4 – NSW Nth – Yamba, NSW – Oct 29, 2016 EVENT 5 – Gold Coast, QLD – Nov 5, 2016 EVENT 6 – Trigg, WA – Nov 19, 2016 EVENT 7 – Kiama, NSW – Dec 10, 2016 EVENT 8 – Phillip Island, VIC – Jan 7, 2017 National Final -Newcastle, NSW – Feb 17 – 19, 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *